Back to All Events

A Moment In Time


  • Palette Contemporary Art and Craft 7400 Montgomery Boulevard Northeast Albuquerque, NM, 87110 United States (map)
Cuba Website.jpg

Come visit Palette Contemporary Art and Craft on Saturday, May 19, from 1-5 PM and see "A Moment in Time" which explores surprising artworks from a country not widely known as a Mid-Century "hotbed" for modernistic paintings and prints.  This country is CUBA.  Our show extends through June 30, 2018.

Untitled Framed.jpg

By the start of the 1950s, a gravitation toward geometric abstraction aligned an emerging generation of Cuban artists with the Trans-Atlantic avant-garde, who had either supported or developed the minimalistic Bauhaus concept of design.  Such abstraction served as a symbol for Cuba's modernization prior to Castro's arrival.

Untitled 1.JPG

This little known chapter, concerning post-war abstraction, featured the work of an artist group who came to be known as "The Ten Concrete Painters."  Our show features pieces created by four of them: Salvador Corratgé, Sandú Darié, José Mijares, and Loló Soldevilla.

For fans of Eyvind Earle and Wayne Thiebaud, we are also displaying a number of their works including a,recently acquired, 1969 Eyvind Earle painting, "Grazing," which is making its Albuquerque debut this month.

May 19 opening attendees will be eligible to win a door prize drawing for winning one copy of David Zwirner's fine book chronicling this Cuban artist movement, Concrete Cuba.

Cement your plans now to visit Palette to view these historic pieces!

Earlier Event: March 18
Vintage Voltage
Later Event: June 16
It's A Mod, Mod World!